Log in

Who We Are

SDEMA is a made up of Emergency Managers and other related agencies serving South Dakota.

South Dakota is made up of 66 counties with a wide range of landscapes and communities of all sizes. Each county has a designated Emergency Manager. This position in some counties is a 1/4 time role, in others a 1/2 time role, while other counties may have a full-time director with additional support staff. The goal of Emergency Management professionals is to protect lives, property and the environment while overseeing the planning, response, recovery and mitigation of any and all major disasters/emergencies that occur within the county.

Our goal is to learn from and help our fellow emergency managers while we work to protect the communities we serve.

South Dakota Regions

Region I: Clay, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Minnehaha, Moody, Turner and Union.

Region II: Brown, Clark, Codington, Day, Deuel, Grant, Hamlin, Marshall, Roberts, and Spink.

Region III: Campbell, Corson, Dewey, Edmunds, Faulk, Hand, Hughes, Hyde, Potter, Stanley, Sully, Walworth, Ziebach and McPherson.

Region IV: Butte, Custer, Fall River, Harding, Lawrence, Meade, Pennington, Perkins and Oglala Lakota.

Region V: Bennett, Brule, Buffalo, Charles Mix, Douglas, Gregory, Haakon, Jackson, Jones, Jerauld, Lyman, Mellette, Todd and Tripp.

Region VI: Aurora, Beadle, Bon Homme, Brookings, Davison, Hanson, Hutchinson, Kingsbury Miner, Sanborn and Yankton

Members can link to their region HERE for additional information. 

Region and OEM Photos taken at the the 2021 SDEMA Conference
Some members may not have been present


No pictures to show



  • SD Local Civil Defense Directors Association started 1963
  • SD Civil Defense Association Incorporated 10-05-1979
  • CEM Progam adopted 12-7-1993
  • SD Civil Preparednesss Association 1975
  • 1st Annual Conference, Rapid City, Sheraton Johnson Hotel in 1963

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software